Tomato Bisque

This recipe can be done with fresh ingredients or dried, on the stovetop or in the crock-pot. I adapted this recipe from some church family in Maryland – must give credit where credit is due!

Tomato Bisque Soup

  • 2  TB Olive Oil
  • ¼ of an onion chopped (dehydrated onions can be used if you are in a hurry 2TB)
  • 1 -2 cloves of minced garlic (the pre-minced kind works fine too, but fresh is always best)
  • 1 can (14.5oz) of diced tomatoes (fire roasted are my favorite, you can use any flavor you like)
  • 2 cans of tomato bisque soup (18..7 oz Campbell’s makes a nice cheap brand, choose whatever flavor you enjoy)
  • 1 ½ cups of milk (if you like the flavor of ½ and ½ I would use one cup and ½ cup milk)
  • 1½ cup shredded cheese (cheddar, mozzarella, and parmesan)
  • 1 Tsp Brown Sugar (if desired)
  • 2 TB fresh parsley
  • 2-4 TB fresh basil
  • 2 Tsp fresh ground black pepper
  • 1 ½ tsp dried oregano
  1. Swirl the olive oil in pot and warm on med-high heat. Add the onions and garlic and sauté until aromatic and tender.
  2. Add the can of tomatoes with juice (you might want to chop these a little smaller).
  3. Wisk in the tomato soup.
  4. Slightly warm milk or ½ and ½ in the microwave and whisk into the pan.
  5. Add shredded cheese (1 cup any variety you enjoy i.e. mozzarella or cheddar and ½ cup of parmesan fresh is best but the can is fine too).
  6. Taste, if the tomato is too strong or you don’t like that acid flavor add up to 1Tsp of brown sugar to taste.
  7. Add the herbs (fresh is best, but use what you have- you can’t mess this up, use what you like and as much as you like) if you are using dried herbs I would still use the same amounts especially if you are slow cooking it (thyme is a nice addition or substitute if you don’t have other ingredients.
  8. Bring soup to a simmer, and then cook on low until you are ready to enjoy.
  9. An addition of Parmesan, fresh basil and/or croutons finishes the soup nicely and makes a good garnish.

10. Pair this with a salad (with some form of meat) for a complete meal that is delicious and nutritious!

**** If using a crock pot place all of the ingredients together and cook on low for 6-8 hours or on high for 3-5 (you do not need to warm the milk first if using a crock pot).

2 thoughts on “Tomato Bisque

  1. mike says:

    Danielle, I enjoyed watching you make tomato bisque. It made me wish that I liked tomatoes more than I do. I especially enjoyed hearing from your live audience. All-in-all, very entertaining!!

  2. Robin Dougherty says:

    Hi Danielle, Its is Robin. You may know I am caring for my 2 granchildren and yes …time is scharis, I enjoy my crockpot!!!! I am looking forward to your receipes, we can’t ever have enough!! Time never enough, sooooooo I am willing to learn any receipes you may have, also excited!! Believe me I will try them.
    Thank you and wonderful to see you!! Keep on Cook’en with Love!

Leave a Reply

